How to handle not defined Input (Keywords)

(Peter Wolter) #1

Hey guys,
I’m new to Flow XO and simplified: I want to use it for an FAQ. I’ve made the paths to the most asked questions with Shortcuts (Keywords) like “sick” which triggers the action “Send Message Sick”. So far so good. But if the user types “ill” instead of sick the bot will restart with Hello this is test console. I know that it’s possible to use a send message Box with a lot of Does not contain filter (in this example does not containt sick). I have nearly 30 keywords and i dont want to have 30 does not contain filters. Is there any better way?
Thanks in advance

(Nathan Stults) #2

Hi Peter,

There is indeed a much simpler way to organize your FAQ that doesn’t require all those filters. You may be using a “Catch All” trigger to catch every input, and then trying to use filters to capture the phrases you want and show a certain result.

But a much easier approach is two have two flows - one with a “Catch All” that only deals with phrases the bot doesn’t understand, and says something like ‘Sorry, I didn’t understand that - here’s what I can do’ etc

Then you have one or more content flows that use a New Message trigger, and you use groups to organize similar phrases like “sick” and “ill” - you can then use a single filter in your content tasks that says something like “NewMessageTrigger.group = ‘sickeness’”

Please take a look at the first part of this article: Triggers which explains it. You can also check out our ‘Small Talk’ template for an example that shows how to use groups like this.

If you follow that pattern, you will usually need only one filter item per message.

Let us know if that makes sense and solves your problem.

Nathan

(Peter Wolter) #3

Hey. Big thanks for the fast answer. I’ve made two Flows but I dont want the second Flow (Catch all Flow) to start right from the beginning, only after the user gives an unknown input.How can I do that?