Attributes vs Metadata

(Kurt Anderson) #1

Hey everyone,

I’m new to flowxo, and I’m curious if anyone can explain in simple terms, when to use attributes vs when to use metadata.

Thanks!

(Daniel Beckett) #2

Hey Kurt!

There’s a lot of similarities between Attributes and Metadata, especially when setting your own values to use.

Metadata is primarily useful when working with triggers. For example, Facebook Messenger bots have an m.me link which can be used with a referral tag in the URL. E.g:
m.me/1234?ref=MyReferenceHere

Using the above example a user talking to the bot would have Metadata for ‘ref’ with a value of ‘MyReferenceHere’.

Attributes are more suited to conditions where a value needs to change. Unlike Metadata, you are able to GET an attribute mid-flow to grab the latest value. This is especially useful when combined with features like Bot > Ask a Question.

Whenever an attribute is updated during a Flow you will need to GET the latest value to use as an output. There’s a support article on Using Attributes in Flow XO that shows this.

Hopefully that helps. :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks,
Dan

(Kurt Anderson) #3

Hi Dan,

That does help quite a bit! I’m just coming to grips with the realization that to get the most from FlowXO, you need to become a ‘flow’ guru!

I’ve created a massively complicated flow, and I now realize that I’ve made it even more unwieldy by liberally using labels, and go to labels actions, which have muddied up my flow quite a bit. So, naturally, I started looking further into attributes and metadata, as a way to make this flow cleaner and easier to improve and maintain going forward.

Which then lead to an investigation of filters, which I think would allow for more elegant branching, likely in combination with either attributes and/or metadata.